Seeking Approval

posted by v

A local church is running a series of billboards trying to convince people that God, Jesus, and the bible don’t condemn homosexuality. I’m not a Christian, and I haven’t studied religion so I don’t have anything interesting to say about what Christianity says about homosexuality. The minister claims the purpose of the billboard campaign is to spark debate. I have several things to say about the campaign itself.

First, this campaign goes way beyond sparking debate. The minister has written a book on this subject and clearly has an agenda to push and a book to sell. He’s using the church as his platform. I hope the church signed up for this. I bet his publisher is ecstatic.

Second, there are many people in this church who are desperately seeking approval. For them, that’s what this campaign is about. Not debate. It’s about “Please, please, please accept me”. I think that the church and the community needs to address this psychological state that some members of the community find themselves in. Personally, I’m not begging for acceptance from anyone. I’m a productive member of society. That should be enough.

Third, I’m concerned about the safety of the members of this church. This church has made itself a target by doing this campaign. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t take risks. I just hope that everybody realizes what they signed up for. I made myself a target in high school, and my life was a living hell because of it. No older, wiser person stepped in and tried to persuade me in a different direction. They were too busy living vicariously through me.

9 Comments

Filed under The way the world works

9 responses to “Seeking Approval

  1. I agree. Mel said something that I thought was really true in relation to these billboards in a similar discussion the other day: “I don’t need the validation of the church and Bible to tell me I’m ok being who I am”.

  2. I like being a lesbian. I think it’s a perfectly valid and sensible lifestyle choice– meaning it’s OK whether you feel you were “born that way” or not. Having a loving, thoughtful female partner provides me with the support I need to have a family AS WELL AS lots of time for thinking and introspection and a successful career– luxuries many straight women have to forego.

    I don’t need anyone’s permission to live this way. It makes me sad that so many gay and lesbian people feel the need to apologize for and justify who they are. There may be a benevolent over-being somewhere out there. If there is, s/he loves me just the way I am and has more important things to worry about than who I sleep with at night. If I choose to read it, I will interpret the Bible as I see fit.

  3. Jay

    “Second, there are many people in this church who are desperately seeking approval. For them, that’s what this campaign is about. Not debate. It’s about “Please, please, please accept me”. I think that the church and the community needs to address this psychological state that some members of the community find themselves in.”

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. While some might call me “disgusting and demeaning” for saying such a thing, I think that reaction is defensive on their part and ignores the psychological realities within the LGBT community. People ARE craving acceptance and they will go to great lengths to achieve it. Far too many in the LGBT family are wanting someone to tell them they are “ok.” If you need someone else’s approval in order to be at peace with yourself, you’re in need of psychological help. If that makes me harsh or “disgusting and demeaning,” so be it.

  4. I like the way you used the word “agenda” when discussing their “Pastor Jeff.” To me, it seems he’s always been about theatrics and his agenda might include getting himself on Anderson Cooper. I think its fairly transparent that’s what he wants, even though a lot of his churchgoers would be MOST upset if I brought my thoughts up to them.

  5. It is difficult not to question the motives of this campaign. I get bothered by people who use a group of people to gain fame or money. Sounds like he is likely to doing both. Grrr…

  6. Pingback: Flamingo House Happenings » Thinking Blogger

  7. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time as you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a applicable deal. I were a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered shiny clear concept

  8. Pingback: Thoughts on the Jesus MCC Bilboard Campaign | commonplacebook.com

  9. Pingback: Thoughts on the Jesus MCC Bilboard Campaign - Indy Trans News

Leave a comment