It’s Best to Stick with What You Know

When I was about 16, my dad told me that when I buy a car, I should be sure to buy something

“with a small block Chevy motor”

So I bought a 1976 Cutlass. When the car inevitably broke down, it sat in the backyard for weeks while I waited for him to repair it. The lesson I learned was that if I’m going to have a car, I have to be prepared to pay for the maintenance myself. My next car was a 1987 Toyota Corolla FX. When I brought it home, my dad told me

“Now I won’t be able to work on that.”

I know.

1 Comment

Filed under The way the world works

One response to “It’s Best to Stick with What You Know

  1. Hee – that’s funny! You were sharp enough to learn a lesson that many folks have yet to master.

Leave a Reply

