Glory Days

posted by Mel

Now that Simone has more energy to fight, she has decided that meds are no longer necessary and resolutely clamps her lips against them. The multivitamin I have to give her is the worst. I really don’t blame her. It smells and tastes wretched. This morning after forcing 4 meds and one multivitamin down her, I rewarded us both with a mother/daughter bath.

Most mornings Moni and I bathe together, and it is my favorite part of the day. She is my water baby. She splashes and kicks and yells at the shower head and hollers her protest when it’s time to get out. This morning, however, she was angry when she got in, and she stayed angry. I should have known better than to get in with her with that look on her face.

I had just finished soaping her down and rinsing her when her face turned red and the grunting started.

Two seconds later I was splattered in excrement from sternum to belly button, and Simone was floating in it. Turns out she hates that even more than I do because then her eyes started watering, and she got deathly silent. I snatched her off my lap, put her over my shoulder, and raised her arms in the air, but I was too late. She vomited down my back.

So I started my morning sitting for ten minutes clutching my screaming baby, both of us covered in shit and puke, waiting for the tub to drain so that I could hose us both down and start all over again.

Bath time

12 Comments

Filed under Young'n

12 responses to “Glory Days

  1. docgrumbles

    ah, the best of times! Save that story to tell her when she is a teen, preferably in front of her friends.

  2. vee

    Dear me! And doesn’t it all seem to spread so much further when mixed with water?

  3. jay

    eeeeew! LOL!

    is there any way you can make those photos a bit bigger? just so we can admire her extreme cuteness in more glory…

  4. Katy

    I love that picture

  5. OMG. Is it ok to laugh now that everyone’s no longer crap-covered?

  6. Oh man, Thats priceless and she is too cute in that pic.

    Maya puked in my wifes mouth once it was so gross. hahaha

  7. that sounds DELIGHTFUL 😉

  8. Io

    I know that must have been awful, but I have to admit, I laughed! It will be funnier when she’s older.

  9. missanthropy

    Oh, no! The perils of motherhood. I have been peed, pooped, and puked on, but nothing quite like this . . . yet.

  10. Hmmm… how come we don’t put hazmat suits on our baby registries? 🙂

    I am so glad to read she’s feeling good enough to refuse all meds. What dodo made nasty tasting baby vitamins? Poor gal!

  11. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  12. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

Leave a Reply

