Something to be Thankful For

posted by Mel

Yesterday’s NST went very well. She was surprisingly reactive for 29 weeks, which wasn’t expected for this gestational age apparently. Blood flow through the cord was improved this week, so they opted not to do the biophysical profile. I have to go back on Monday for another NST, and then they’ll look at her on u/s and do another check of the cord and a growth scan next Thursday. It’s going to be like this from here on out– an appointment every 3-4 days. The peri was at least confident enough to say she thought I’d make it to 30 weeks, but she is giving no guarantees beyond that. I’m just going to have to live 3-4 days at a time. She at least seemed hopeful and said she did not think it was time to think about administering any shots to mature Simone’s lungs. Even if cord blood flow starts to degrade, the first step will be to put me into the hospital and monitor me all the time. I’m actually thankful for that. I feel like I’ll at least get a little warning before Simone arrives– even if it’s only 24 hours.

I did find out that I’ve got a much higher chance of ending up with a C-section, so that’s something I’m going to start mentally preparing myself for. She said she thought there was a 50% chance but that, when it’s time for Simone to come, we’ll put me through a stress test with pitocin to simulate labor to see how she would tolerate a vaginal delivery. Crossing my fingers that she’ll be strong and healthy enough, but I’ll do what I have to do.

This morning my baby is alive, kicking, and staying put until at least 30 weeks.

12 Comments

Filed under Preggo

12 responses to “Something to be Thankful For

  1. thankful indeed… good little simone, doing the cha-cha in mommy’s uterus, but staying indoors for a bit longer. that’s what we like to hear. active and healthy! you are doing great! happy thanksgiving friend.

  2. GOOD.

    Happy thanksgiving to you both!

    xoxox

  3. Great news, under the circumstances. I hope to read more of the same, at 3/4 day intervals, for some time to come! Happy Thanksgiving. vee xxx

  4. Lo

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and Simone!

  5. missanthropy

    I’m giving thanks for that. I’m glad to hear things are looking better.

  6. giggleblue

    that is surely something to be thankful for!

  7. Co

    Simone is one tough cookie.

    And so are you.

    Sending you both lots of love and light.

  8. Carolyn

    Soo glad to hear your appointment went well. And love the pic with your sister. You look soo cute! (yes, cute). 🙂

  9. Amy

    great news! i hope you continue to get great news every 3-4 days until right around 37 weeks or so and then simone can do whatever she wishes…

  10. Matthew

    Happy thanksgiving to you both from the
    Wilsons!

  11. Io

    I’m glad the blood flow got better.
    Keep staying put Simone!

  12. I too like the many many u/s, just for peace of mind. I only get a NST/BPP every week, so mine is every 7 days. And as like you too, first step would be to admit me to hospital for monitoring, not sudden taking of the baby.

    I’m glad she’s doing well. I hope the blood flow continues to improve.

Leave a Reply

