Bigger

posted by Mel

I woke up huge this morning. I think it happened overnight. I’ve gained at least 2, possibly 3 lbs this week. I’m not complaining about that. That signals to me that she’s growing. But I’m suddenly so awkward. I had to spin out of bed on my tailbone and put my feet over the side of the bed before I could really sit up because I felt like I was going to wobble right over. That’s the first time I’ve felt like that– like a fat daddy long legs or a crab who can only scuttle one way. My movement is different. It’s restricted. My body’s changing, and it’s all so out of my control. I know I’m not, but for a second on my way to work this morning I just felt so helpless.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Bigger

  1. vee

    Scary, feeling your body change so drastically. Probably the only time since babyhood that we change so quickly. Getting the hang of an ever-changing centre of gravity and adjusting to new and varied physical limitations is fascinating and….well….scary. A little. I think.

  2. wow! what a bizarre feeling that must be! been thinking about you a lot the last several days and i am sending you hugs and lots of non-wobbly love… mulberry

  3. Co

    It’s hard to get used to. The biggest adjustment for me is that, as a relatively small woman living in a big city, tall men walking toward me often expect me to be the one to move out of the way… they will just keep walking forward like I’m a ghost and they could just walk through me… but of course, they can’t, so I get out of the way. When I was pg, I wasn’t as agile as I was used to being, and was literally unable to get out of the way sometimes and actually had to yell at a few people, “I’m pregnant. I can’t move to the side easily. Get outta my way!”

    I also learned that Lo likes to lean on my shoulder. I never noticed her tendency to do that, but she does it. Now that I’m not pregnant any more, she probably does it and I don’t notice. But when I was pg, the second she would lean against me, I would tip over because my center of gravity was different. I am not used to being so unsure on my feet.

    So, yeah, it’s totally strange and disconcerting. You can try to remember… It’s pregnancy. It’s only 9 months… if that helps. That is, it isn’t a permanent change. Hugs.

  4. Io

    Ha! I like Co’s yelling. I think you should start doing it often, randomly, and loudly, to make up for the fact that you are now off balance.

  5. I second Mulberry, you’ve been on our minds this week. Sending you lots of love and positive energy. I LOVED this post, because you and I are almost in a dead heat for where we’re at in our pregnancy and I started feeling like that a week or so ago. I tried to get up in the middle of the night and found that I almost had to lift my knees up and hold on to them, doing an almost rocking motion to get my feet to the floor. Really ridiculous for 3am, lol. Basically, I feel you sister, and if Co’s yelling works, let me know, I might join you 🙂

  6. I’m getting to be that size as well…getting out of bed and even sleeping is a chore.

Leave a Reply

