Big week

posted by Mel

Thanks, everyone, for the loads of great suggestions on the last post. I still ended up with a Grandma’ing book, but I also took Katie’s suggestion and got the Goodnight Moon/Runaway Bunny board book set. There were some really great ideas in there that we’ll probably be taking advantage of come holiday time. I just didn’t feel I had enough time to adequately research anything our kid is going to be using long-term at grandma’s house or put together a good survival kit. I’m thinking the grandparent survival kit is going to be great for stocking stuffers.

Two amazing things are happening this week. #1) We get another peek at the alien in my belly on Wednesday. Updates on that Wednesday afternoon I promise.

#2) This is not something we’ve discussed on the blog, but Vanessa and I have been planning a major home remodel for over a year, and this week it starts! As I type, three men are decimating our current kitchen to make room for TRIPLE the pitiful counter space and TRIPLE the inadequate cabinet space we’ve been living with for the last 3 years. It’s going to be a rough couple of months. We’ve already been without a kitchen for a week in preparation, so we’re doing a lot of eating out and microwave cooking. Great for prenatal health, I know. I’m trying to make up for it by keeping milk and other healthy items in the fridge at work. I’m looking forward to coming home to a lot of destruction today!

6 Comments

Filed under Home Swett Home

6 responses to “Big week

  1. mulberry

    talk about nesting! although i think you are supposed to build the nest, not demolish it 😉

    it’s great you are getting your house all spiffed up and ready for the alien. here is a radical idea… if they are destroying everything anyway, is there anyway you can plug your fridge in in another room? weird to imagine a fridge in the living room, but ya never know…

  2. Lo

    Ooooh exciting!! We want pix.

  3. Io

    Yay for kitchen renovations, though it will be rough. I will have to have you guys over for dinner in the next few weeks. Let me know if there’s a good night and I will make Al cook.

  4. Jen

    You guys sure keep busy hey!!

  5. We might end up plugging the fridge in in the dining room once some of the remodeling materials which are flooding in get relocated. I’m a little worried about having that heavy appliance sitting on the hardwoods for an extended period of time, but I don’t know where else they’d put it. If it’s going to be sitting in our dining room, it might as well be plugged in.

  6. I love the new door! I want a door like that now.

Leave a Reply

