Being pregnant so far

I am bloated up to at least a size higher than usual, which was already a size higher than I was comfortable being. I didn’t expect to look 5 months pregnant at 6 ½ weeks. I wonder if my body remembers being 90 lbs heavier than this and is just settling back in.

 

I am kind of horrified to find that my hips have already spread. I didn’t think it was possible for them to spread any farther, but I seem to suddenly be at least 3 inches wider. My weight hasn’t increased, but suddenly nothing fits. I’m already using the rubber band trick to keep my jeans closed. I am busting out of bras that were on the loose side two weeks ago. My heartburn and belching are a real treat for Vanessa. I’ve woken up several times this week in the middle of the night to a spinning room. I had one mini-puke this weekend, but that could have just been caused by heat, since I was working in the yard. I’ve been nauseous on and off throughout the day for the last three days. I suddenly have a problem with car sickness.

 

I’m not complaining, though.* I cling to this stuff. I’m hoping one more ultrasound this Friday will provide the confirmation that I need to settle in and enjoy this ride.

 

*The one thing I am likely to complain about, should it happen, would be an increase in shoe size. I already have to shop in the drag queen section of the shoe store. If my feet get much bigger (size 10 now), I’m going to have to start special ordering.

6 Comments

Filed under Preggo

6 responses to “Being pregnant so far

  1. Jen

    Ah the joys of pregnancy! After five kids my shoe size has only gone up 2 sizes so you should be ok this time around 🙂

  2. Katy

    Bigger boobs! I love it!

  3. Io

    Well, you *look* fantastic Mel. Vanessa is a lucky lady. It was great meeting you.

  4. First of all you *don’t* look 5 months pregnant! Second try viewing this as an opportunity to shop for some new clothes 🙂

  5. A bit late to the party, but congrats!! Here’s to all those pregnancy symptoms!!! (I just hope they don’t get too bad… 🙂

  6. Hi Mel! Thanks for visiting my blog and the comment. It sounds like things are working out for you guys. Hope your u/s went ok today. How’s life over at Garfield Park? We just bought an oldie over near Broad Ripple. Gotta love the vintage houses.

Leave a Reply

