The Egg Report

posted by Mel

We got 10 eggs– even though we only ever saw 9 follicles. I’m not sure how Vanessa did that. We’re both pleased. It was really amazing to experience IVF from an upright position. I hope neither of us ever experiences it from any position ever again.

Vanessa did great. She’s hardcore. She didn’t even have to take any anti-anxiety medication pre-retrieval like I did. I noticed she wasn’t shy about asking for more drugs when she was on the table, though.

While she was in recovery, I got the chance to speak with the embryologist, who took me back to her lab and showed me our sperm sample onscreen– much higher motility than the cryobank said we’d get. Swimmers looked strong and determined. Let’s hope they and Vanessa’s eggs make with the sweet sweet love and we get some healthy embryos. We’ll have a report late tomorrow afternoon. Based on the egg haul, the embryologist was predicting a 5-day transfer. Sqeeee!!

Vanessa’s sleeping comfortably (at a 45 degree angle) on the couch. When she wakes up I’m going to give her some more pain meds. Katie is coming over tonight to give me my first PIO injection at 8 PM, since we expect V will be too doped up to perform. Wish us luck. It is really the blind leading the blind. Vanessa is the experienced one. I just gave my first intramuscular injection on Tuesday night– in Katie’s presence so that she could see what it looks like and where it goes before she has to give me this shot tonight.

3 Comments

Filed under Gettin' Knocked Up

3 responses to “The Egg Report

  1. Hard core is no joke! I had steeled myself with a glass of cabernet and was all set however Hard Core I Just Had Things Surgically Removed from My Body Hours Ago Vanessa was able to give the shot. But thanks to the orange tutorial I am totally prepared in case I need to do this sometime soon 🙂

  2. Co

    Woo hoo! So glad retrieval is over and that you got 10 eggs.

    Thinking of you both.

  3. jay

    Woo….. totally rooting for you both!! 10 sounds GREAT. Hopingggggg here. xxxx

Leave a Reply

