Rockin’ Out

Posted by v.

Mom always listened to popular music. She always had to have some kind of background music on all the time. Even on the day she died, she had the radio on for awhile.

In her car, I found several tapes and CDs. This was a real treasure for me because I can just imagine her rockin’ out while driving down the street. This is the music she was listening to in the past four years of her life.

Some of the tapes I found –
Elton John Greatest Hits Volume II – This was my tape, but she had on 8-track when I was a kid.
Diamond Rio – Love a Little Stronger
Conway Twitty Greatest Hits
Toby Keith – How Do You Like Me Now?
Glass Tiger – The Thin Red Line
Hall & Oates – H20 (Leave me alone/I’m a family man/And my bark is much worse than my bite)
Foreigner – Agent Provocateur (She loved to torture me with Foreigner songs.)
Brooks and Dunn – Tight Rope
Eddit Rabbitt Greatest Hits (Oh yeah, that’s good stuff right there)
Tears For Fears – Songs From The Big Chair
Don Henley – The End of the Innocence
Rodney Crowell – Diamonds & Dirt (Personally, I love Roseanne Cash.)

Some of the CDs I found in her car –
The Cars Greatest Hits
Joe Diffie – A Thousand Winding Roads
Evanescence – Fallen
Hoobastank, Incubus
Linkin Park – Meteora
Nickelback – Silver Side Up
Shinedown – Leave a Whisper
Velvet Revolver – Contraband

Most of the tapes are music that I recall her listening to when I was a kid. The stuff on CDs is what she and my brother, Eric, listened to. I wouldn’t be surprised if she bought most, if not all, of these CDs.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Rockin’ Out

  1. This is a great list, babe. You only told me about the Hall & Oates and the Elton John. I foresee some Eddie Rabbitt in my future. You inherited her talent for torturing loved ones with music.

  2. Your Mom liked Velvet Revolver? Rawk 🙂

  3. Somehow I never pictured anyone’s mom listening to Evanescence.

Leave a Reply

