Oh!

posted by Mel

Madeleine L’Engle died? How did I miss this? I used to spend hours nestled in a beanbag in the Young Adult section of our township library pouring over books like A Wrinkle in Time, Camilla, and A Ring of Endless Light while my mother sat in the Periodicals section researching stocks in the Wall Street Journal. A weekend re-read of An Acceptable Time borrowed from a dormmate and fellow L’Engle-lover was all it took to get me through a break-up with my very last boyfriend my freshman year of college.

I have to stop talking up my favorite authors to Vanessa. Less than two weeks ago we were at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, and I was telling her how an exhibition there reminds me of the scene in A Wrinkle in Time where Meg, Charles, and Calvin visit the planet Camazotz and all of the children are skipping rope and bouncing their balls in perfect sync in front of their identical houses. And now this. And the same thing happened with Kurt Vonnegut. Maybe I should only discuss my favorite authors after they’ve passed.

3 Comments

Filed under Childhood memories

3 responses to “Oh!

  1. Lo

    Oh my goodness!! I missed that, too.

  2. I heard this on NPR, and it brought a little tear to my eye. A Wrinkle in time is my favorite book. I’ve read it literally over 30 times.

    I heard her speak in Evansville, but she mostly talked about God.

    I have a similar experience to yours about favorite authors. I talked about writing a letter to Salvador Dali, Dr. Suess, and a couple of other people and then they each died a few days after I talked about it. I’m not writing letters to my favorite famous people anymore.

  3. I absolutely loved A Wrinkle in Time. It was one of the first books that made me realize how powerful a truly good book could be. I missed the news, too.

Leave a Reply

