Best Thai Ever, and it’s on the South Side!

Katie and I tried Thai Spice on County Line Road in Greenwood for the first time last night. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to get to another restaurant in Greenwood again. It is that good. I would go back there again tonight if I didn’t have a commitment that demands I be in Fishers tonight. Damn it. I’m taking Vanessa there this weekend.

One reviewer (see link above) has said that its not vegetarian-friendly. I didn’t find that to be the case. There are lots of veggie options on the menu. Perhaps it’s hard to get truly vegetarian Thai anywhere b/c of the fish sauce  so frequently used. I’m not a vegetarian but often prefer to order that way. The veggie Pad Thai came with beautifully steamed broccoli, carrots, bok choy, bean sprouts, and the most divine lightly fried tofu (also available as an appetizer)– crisp on the outside, spongey on the inside. It reminded me of Indian paneer but without the bad breath problem I always seem to have with goat cheeses (an allergy I think).

If you’re in the Indianapolis area and like Thai food even a little, you have to try it. Thank goodness for another non-chain option on the South side. This will be my Greenwood restaurant of choice from now on.

6 Comments

Filed under Southside Rocks!

6 responses to “Best Thai Ever, and it’s on the South Side!

  1. You nailed it. This is the best thai in the city, hands-down! Thanks for giving it a whirl with me! I’m really upset – I left my leftovers on the counter. I’m sure Bella has just savored what was left of my veggie pad thai…

  2. Ahh – I love Thai food. There was a great place I used to frequent when I lived in Oxford, but I’m now bereft of a good Thai eatery. I spent 2 months travelling in Thailand back in ’97 and it remains one of the best eating experiences of my life!

  3. YUCK, Thai food.

    🙂

  4. Shae:

    I knew I’d get some lip from you, but this place was not greasy and not a buffet.

  5. The pad thai was about the best thing I had put in my mouth in the last 12 months…perfect seasoning, not greasy, flavorful without being over the top.

  6. Marti

    YES. I LOVED IT! 🙂 But you really do suck, making me think about delicious food when I’m broke. I want some 😉
    My 17 y/o son and I went there on a whim, and I have to say it’s one of the best restaurants on the Southside. Have you ever been to the Indian resturant on Southport and Madison? If you haven’t, don’t. 🙂 It’s the opposite of Thai Spice, IMO.

Leave a Reply

