Embryo Report

posted by Mel

They retrieved 22 eggs. According to the report this morning, 17 fertilized normally (with ICSI). This is more than I ever hoped for. Vanessa was a bit closer. She guessed we’d get 15. Dr. G says I am an “ovary achiever”– glad I wasn’t alert enough to hear that. Now we wait to see what makes it to blastocyst. The transfer will be Thursday around noon.

I was out of it for most of the day yesterday. I hope Vanessa will blog about it because most of it is a blur for me. I took two Xanax at 8 AM, and by 8:30, I was stumbling around the surgery center. The retrieval probably happened around 10:30 (The RE was late getting there from a surgery on the other side of town, but the nurses reassured us that some extra time was built in and that I wouldn’t ovulate before he got there. The embryologist said that in 3 1/2 years, no one had ever ovulated before retrieval). I woke up around noon in the recovery room feeling little pain, and I think we were out of there by 1:00. Vanessa took me home, tucked me into the recliner in the living room (they won’t let you lie flat for 24 hours to keep the excess fluid from the follicles from pooling around your lungs) and kept the Vicodin and anti-nausea medication coming for the rest of the day and evening. She took wonderful care of me– even slept on the couch last night to be close to me. She is the best partner ever. She got me up around 10 PM for my progesterone in oil shot, which I didn’t feel at all thanks to the numbing cream she asked them to prescribe us at the surgery center. I didn’t get up again until 8:00 this morning.

I’m in some pain now, but it’s manageable. I still don’t know how I’m going to get myself into anything work-appropriate for tomorrow morning– a skirt, I guess. If one of those 17 embryos turns into a real live baby, everything will be worth it.

5 Comments

Filed under Gettin' Knocked Up

5 responses to “Embryo Report

  1. Co

    Wow! You are SUCH an ovary achiever.

    I am glad you are doing reasonably well considering. I’m thinking of you guys this cycle.

  2. Lo

    Ovary achiever. haha ha ha ha ha.
    That is *amazing.* I’m hoping!!!

  3. byrdlady

    No doubt you’re an ovary achiever! Good for you!! Can’t wait to hear the results…

  4. e.

    ovary achiever! i LOVE it!!!!

  5. missanthropy

    Good luck! It all sounds like very positive news.

Leave a Reply

