8 days of stims, 6 days since the world started spinning in the opposite direction

posted by Mel 

My estadiol level has recovered. We have 30 follicles all at different sizes. I’m predicting a worst case of 9 ready the day of retrieval, best case 15. The smallest follicle is 7.5mm, and the largest is 15.5mm. We’re looking for 18mm or larger. The nurse this morning said that when the lead follicles are ready, the RE will tell us to trigger– whether the rest have caught up or not. They have 2 days to catch up before our last scheduled ultrasound, 3 days before we’d need to trigger if we stay on track for a Saturday retrieval. Follicles grow, on average, 2 mm per day, so I’m calling everything at 11.5 mm and up right now a candidate.

Vanessa still hasn’t blogged about what’s going on with her mom, and I don’t blame her. She has other things on her mind, but I’ll provide a quick synopsis. Her mom has had two harrowing E.R. experiences in the past month. After the last one, a pulmonologist at the hospital where she was taken said that the main tumor in her lungs has compromised her pulmonary artery and that it’s just a matter of time before it goes. He gave a week to two weeks. There’s nothing they can do. Starting last Thursday, Vanessa has been staying at her mom’s. She stayed w/me on Saturday night b/c she needed a break and some rest. She’s planning to be home tonight and then again on Friday night so that she can come with me to the retrieval early Saturday morning.

8 Comments

Filed under Cancer Sucks, Gettin' Knocked Up

8 responses to “8 days of stims, 6 days since the world started spinning in the opposite direction

  1. vee

    Looking good for the retrieval Mel – glad everything caught up. I’m so sad to read of Vanessa’s awful news about her mum. My thoughts are with you both.

  2. jay

    Am really sorry too. xx

  3. take care of both of you. so sorry.

  4. missanthropy

    I’m so sorry to hear the news about Vanessa’s mom. Our thoughts are with you.

  5. Hoping you have a great retrieval, and sorry about Vanessa’s mother.

    Thanks for the offer of progesterone bullets. At the moment, I think I have enough of the pills to hold me over, but I may take you up on the offer if they run out.

  6. e.

    thinking of you two and vanessa’s mom. that sounds awful.

    hoping for lots of great follies for saturday’s retrieval.

  7. Co

    9 to 15 eggs? Hurray!

    I’m so sorry to hear about Vanessa’s mom. Thinking of you both.

  8. Lo

    Thinking of you in all your endeavours…

Leave a Reply

