So it goes

posted by Melody 

I really can’t let this day go by without at least a few words of observance for Kurt Vonnegut.

Vonnegut died at the strangest time. Two weeks ago I was singing his praises to Vanessa. I even went down to the basement and dug out my copies of Mother Night and Slaughterhouse Five for her to read. She read and loved both of them and then handed them over to me so that I could re-read them. I’m a little more than halfway through Slaughterhouse Five right now. We were planning to see him at Butler University at the end of the month.

I’ve actually been wanting to post on Slaughterhouse Five for the last few days. The last time I read it, I was 16 years old. The Tralmafadorian stuff mostly just annoyed me. In this reading, though, I was finding such peace in it– the idea that time isn’t linear, no matter how we limited humans might see it. I might be having a pretty shitty time at the moment, but I can move backwards or forwards in time at will to a happier situation– perhaps my second date with Vanessa when she just stroked my hand for 20 minutes at the end of the night, and I thought I was going to spontaneously combust from the heat or the day a year or so from now that I’m going to be sitting up in a hospital bed nursing our first child.

I’m upset that we’re not going to see Vonnegut as we planned, but I can’t really be too sad because I keep thinking that he’s dead today, but somewhere else he’s alive and well and telling someone the way things really are.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “So it goes

  1. I love Vonnegut. I heard him speak while I was in college while he was a writer-in-residence at Smith College, and he was so freaking..hilarious! I don’t know why that surprised me so much. But it was quite memorable. He ended with a witty comment about Kafka’s “Metamorphosis,” about how life would suddenly be if we all woke up as gigantic cockroaches…

    Off the subject, but Butler is who I went through on my study abroad program my junior year of college =)

  2. Pingback: Oh! « IndyNess

Leave a Reply

