CD6– Injectables Update

I had a Femara headache and dry eyes pretty much all weekend long. I’ll be glad to be off this drug in a couple of days, but as side effects go, headaches are pretty mild. I can gut through it. We started the Follistim yesterday morning. Vanessa wasn’t able to go with me for my CD3 u/s, so I got instructions on giving the injections without her. Consequently, I was ready to go, had the dose all dialed up and the needle screwed on, and she was still obsessing over the directions. So while she read the entire booklet that came with the pen, I sat there staring at the needle. By the time she was done I was so psyched out I couldn’t do it. She had to. Fortunately she seems to have no problem sticking me.

She had to again this morning. It doesn’t really hurt, but I just cannot stick myself– the last vestige of my needlephobia. It stings for about five minutes afterwards– which is longer than I notice other kinds of shots, but there is no bruising or soreness after that.

I believe stress has played a key role in keeping me from getting pregnant to date. I’ve decided to make a concerted effort to keep myself relaxed for the next 2 weeks in an attempt to create an environment conducive to conception. Unfortunately, work is making that pretty tough. 😦

5 Comments

Filed under Gettin' Knocked Up

5 responses to “CD6– Injectables Update

  1. I agree that work is stressing you out. I think you should take some time off. Maybe a week or two (or longer or permanently longer).

  2. Maybe I will take a day off next Monday when we expect to inseminate– just to relax while the egg(s) and spermies do their thing (if they’re going to do their thing).

  3. Co

    Lo always shoots me up. I have never injected myself. I think I could do it, but I prefer not having to. I worry that I will screw it up.

    I think taking the day of the insem off is a good idea. It may not make a diff, but you will feel less stressed.

  4. Just relax and it’ll happen! Ack! I hate that expression!

    Couldn’t hurt to try to take it easy, though. I keep trying to lighten up, but my job always interferes with that plan, too!

    Needles still make me shiver. If I still freak out over the trigger shot, how could I ever handles days of injectibles???

  5. Sara– the injectables are soooo much easier than the trigger. Everyone told me that, but I didn’t believe them. The only easy thing about the trigger is that I get it in the behind, so I don’t have to look at the needle. It’s impossible to avoid looking at a needle that’s going into your belly, but the needle is about 1/4 the size of the trigger needle. As long as I look away while V’s doing it, it’s no worse than getting bitten by a mosquito.

Leave a Reply

