Goodbye Dr. Davis

As most of you know, I’ve been working through some issues from childhood. I’ve been surprised by how real and raw reliving some of those experiences has been. I’ve re-experienced a number of traumatic episodes that I’d forgotten about. One good memory that I have is of a weekly in-patient therapy group that was facilitated by Dr. Larry Davis. It was 1985, and I was 12 years old. I was the youngest patient in an adolescent psych unit for youth ages 13 to 21.

My entree into that facility is one such traumatizing experience. For two weeks I sat on a chair and faced a wall from 6 am to 10 pm. I slept in the hallway. I was watched while I used the bathroom and showered. I ate all my meals at that chair in front of the wall. I was only allowed to attend on-unit activities. One of those was Dr. Davis’ group. I liked him instantly. I don’t know anybody who didn’t. He was laid back, and he listened. Not at all like my prick-of-a-psychiatrist who asked me if I masturbated while he was writing up the papers to send me to LaRue Carter for a year. No, Dr. Davis was one of the good ones.

Dr. Davis died today in a plane crash. I only got to see him one hour a week for four weeks, but he was a beacon of hope for me.

1 Comment

Filed under Childhood memories

One response to “Goodbye Dr. Davis

  1. It sounds like Dr. Davis was quite a nice man — his death has affected several of our neighbors who posted remembrances of him on our neighborhood mailing list. He was an early pioneer of home renovation in Old Northside and ran the Yellow Rose Inn on Delaware. Sounds like he was a good influence everywhere he went.

Leave a Reply

