Not Knowing

I want to take a pregnancy test, and I’m dreading taking a pregnancy test. I’m so pathetic. Tomorrow will be 14 days past the day I got the trigger shot of hcg and 13 days past ovulation, so all the hcg from the shot should have dissipated. So I could probably get an accurate result with a home pregnancy test. But if we get a positive, we’ll have to wait till Monday to get a blood test at the doctor’s, and we could spend the whole weekend celebrating something that’s not real and then have a horrible disappointment. If we wait, I might just get my period over the weekend, and then it would all be over. I’m on Day 24 of my usually 25-26 day cycle right now, and I don’t feel like I’m going to start, but the progesterone bullets usually delay my period by a couple of days anyway.

I don’t want to think about what we’re going to feel like if we get another negative. I keep asking myself if going crazy not knowing is better than knowing you’re definitely not pregnant when you want to be.

3 Comments

Filed under Young'n

3 responses to “Not Knowing

  1. I’m afraid of getting a false positive. I’d rather wait. I thought Karen said to wait until day 32. (!) I think we should do it on Halloween.

  2. Karen did say day 32, but she also incorrectly judged the size of my hoo-ha and tried to use an Amazon-sized speculum on me (no, I’m still not over it), so are we really to trust what she says? Anyway, I’m assuming that’s based on the “average” 28 day cycle, whereas mine is only 25-26 days.

    From what I’ve been reading around the Web, you should be able to take an accurate home pregnancy test after a shot of HCG after about 10 days. I’m going to try to keep waiting, though. I didn’t buy one at lunch, even though I really wanted to. If we don’t have a test in the house, I can’t be tempted.

  3. Katy

    She said hoo-ha. Let me know when you find out.

Leave a Reply

