In the dog house

Last night I concocted a savory butternut squash pie that I had cobbled together based on a myriad of recipes I had seen. I really wanted to do something with butternut squash and corn, but everything I found heaped in the brown sugar and cinnamon, and I wanted something that would be more of a meal than a dessert. Here’s the basic recipe:

 Ingredients

1 baked small to medium-sized butternut squash, scooped out of its shell and mashed
3/4 c corn
1 medium onion
1/2 – 3/4 cup parmesan
2 slices bacon
1 egg
1 frozen pieshell

Instructions

I fried the bacon then set it aside between paper towels to degrease a bit, poured out the majority of the bacon grease leaving just enough to coat the pan, sauteed the onion and the frozen corn in it, seasoning to taste with coarse ground pepper, salt, and Italian spices.

Meanwhile, I chopped up the bacon and beat an egg and mixed it together with the mashed butternut squash and the parmesan. I added the cooked onions and corn, dished it all into the thawed pie shell and shoved it into the oven at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. It came out smelling wonderful and looking browned and delicious. I set it atop the wooden leaf attached to our microwave cart to cool so that I could put it away to be eaten for dinner the next day.

Why, you ask, is this blog entry categorized as DogBlog?– because this is apparently where things took a turn for the worse.  While the pie cooled, I went back to the bedroom to watch the tail-end of The Biggest Loser.

Vanessa was downstairs in the basement working, and Rosie was in the living room lying on the couch. I stuck my head into the living room once, and I saw that Rosie had disappeared, but I assumed that she was wandering between the basement and the living room to seek Vanessa’s attention. After The Biggest Loser I went to the kitchen to see if my pie was cool enough to be put away. Vanessa was standing in the middle of the kitchen looking dumbfounded, and my pie was not on the leaf where I left it. I assumed that she had already put it away. Then a flash of metal caught my eye. There was an overturned pie pan lying in the middle of the kitchen floor. Upset that Rosie had obviously knocked over my pie, I went to grab it. Honestly I was hoping that some of it might still be salvageable. The minute I touched the plate, I knew it was far too light. When I turned it over, there was hardly a crumb to be found. Rosie had eaten the whole thing.

I’m still in shock. I was almost too shocked to be angry last night. I alternated between incredulous laughing and worrying when she was going to throw up. Now I’m pissed. That pie was baked over two nights– one night for baking the butternut squash and one for the assembly. By my standards, it was practically gourmet, despite the fact that I used a pre-baked pie shell. I used rather expensive parmesan (not the Kraft kind)– something we do not usually buy.  I have had a taste in my mouth for that butternut squash for over a week and was just waiting to use it until I had figured out something really cool to do with it. My efforts were wasted– on a dog.

Despite being kind of burpy, Rosie appears unaffected by the 2000+ (a pie is 8 servings) calories she gulped down in the space of 30 minutes– this in addition to two meals of dogfood, an apple, and a chicken stick. Where does she put it all? She’s only 50 lbs!

2 Comments

Filed under DogBlog

2 responses to “In the dog house

  1. Shock aside, Rosie’s got an extremely sophisticated palate. What with the butternut squash pie, broccoli stalks and such 🙂

  2. Yes, she’s quite the gourmand.

Leave a Reply

