30 now. So far so good.

Thanks to everyone who made my birthday so enjoyable. I couldn’t ask for better friends. I also couldn’t ask for a better partner than Vanessa. Tom and Shirley’s detour through the cemetary aside (My mother and father distracted me long enough for Vanessa, et al to set up the surprise party), I had a great evening Saturday.

After everyone left, Vanessa and I, Katie and Dave, and our new neighbors Matt and Christin walked down to The Garf on Shelby Street and had a few more drinks, a few more laughs, and an entertaining game of darts. Katie has christened it our new hang-out. It’s nice to have a bar close enough to walk to where the restrooms are clean even if the kitchen isn’t. This is exactly the kind of neighborhood and the kind of neighbors we envisioned when we bought our home a little over a year ago, and we feel really lucky.

3 Comments

Filed under Home Swett Home, Southside Rocks!

3 responses to “30 now. So far so good.

  1. Happy belated birthday!! I’m sorry I didn’t realize it was your b-day recently. Glad to know it went well. By the way, there’s an Indian musician giving a free concert this Friday night at the art center. The woman who manages it comes in to get coffee all the time and put up a poster. Just thought I’d let you guys know if you were interested in Indian music. Plus, it’s free and all . . .

  2. Yay! I thought the party was a great success. And save for the funknasty crockpots, the Garf is amazingly clean for a neighborhood dive. So I guess the lesson is pee and drink there but don’t eat 🙂 It’s not a far walk either even when you are tanked, or so I discovered Saturday night. Dave told me that apparently when we arrived home I decided to lay down in the grass in our front yard because it was “cool and wet”. Hopefully the fundie neighbors caught that.

  3. I, too, have befriended the grass in front of our house.

Leave a Reply

