Daily Archives: May 25, 2006

Hot Child in the City

There's a marked excess of estrogen in our household these days. Tuesday at the bark park we noticed that Rosie was unusually shy around the other dogs. Then a fully neutered shaggy male dog took a special interest in her. We had to keep pulling him off of her– to the point that we actually gave up and just left.

When we got Rosie from the Humane Society, they said that they were 98% sure that she was already spayed. 98% is not sure enough. Our suspicions were aroused after what happened at the park, so we made a vet appointment for her this afternoon. At some point mid-day, however, Ness realized that Rosie's girl parts were now even more pronounced. I think the exact phrasing she used when she IM'd me was that they were "big as a melon" and that she had indeed begun leaving droplets of blood in her wake.

A little research tells us that Rosie has entered estrus or "heat," and that this is going to last at least 3 weeks. She can get spayed while she's in heat, but there are increased risks. We've been advised to wait until she's through it.

It's not all bad actually. After a false start with a jock strap (Ness read about this online), we opted for a pair of Scooby-Doo briefs (Boys-small) with a hole cut out for the tail and a pantyliner. This has provided some much needed comic relief. It looks as though Scooby-doo is erupting from Rosie's hindquarters. Perhaps I can persuade Ness to upload a picture later tonight.

1 Comment

Filed under DogBlog

Of knit authors and missed opportunities

Mel here again. Ness is busy writing a book and doesn't have much time to post at the moment. I should be busy finding authors to write books, but instead I am taking a little extra time out to talk at you folks.

Apparently in our zeal to make a baby, we have been neglecting some of the finer things in life, such as yarn, the quest for yarn, and the quest for blogs about yarn. I've just finished catching up on the adventures of Yarn Harlot, and I cannot believe that I am so unlucky in life that, even though I work for a major publisher, I did not attend BEA and so missed the opportunity to gush all over my favorite knitting book author in person. Not only that– I missed the opportunity to gush all over one of my favorite fiction authors– Margaret Atwood– who apparently stayed in the same hotel as Yarn Harlot.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

It’s out of our hands now

Yesterday afternoon, after at least 6 phone calls, I finally got a chance to talk to the nurse practitioner who is inseminating me. She listened to the stats I've been reading and said that she really does believe the egg lasts considerably longer than Weschler's book claims. I'm going to follow up on that with a question to Weschler herself. She also said that she believes frozen sperm probably lasts at least a little longer than 24 hours, even though the 24 hour stat is repeated all over the Web. She says that the sperm looks identical to a fresh specimen under a microscope, and that makes me feel a little bit better. She's following up on that with a contact she has at a local sperm bank.

Anyway, today went faster and was a little less painful than Tuesday. I'm feeling less stressed now that it's officially out of our hands for the month. I'm hoping that tonight's sleep will be more plentiful and more restful. We're thinking about skipping next month because we'll be on vacation for the first prime inseminating day anyway.

Leave a comment

Filed under Young'n