D-Day

We did it. This morning I (Mel) got inseminated for the first time. It was pretty surreal. Up until today I haven't allowed myself to think too much about the mechanics of the insemination. I'm not going to get too graphic here. I'll just say one thing. Other than the unpleasant last minute revelation that artificial lubricants interfere with insemination and so aren't allowed, it wasn't nearly as painful as I would have imagined had I allowed myself to imagine prior to today.

My doctor's nurse practitioner performed the actual procedure, and Ness and I both loved her. As she says, she's a "glass half full" kind of girl and she has gotten lots of women knocked up this way. So let's hope it took. And if this one didn't, let's hope Thursday's takes.

Vanessa says I have to blog this– I waited an hour and a half afterwards to pee because I was afraid something might fall out. I know that's ridiculous. I understand the mechanics of the female reproductive system and the urinary tract, but darn it.–There's $500 worth of sperm up there, and I'm not taking any risks.

4 Comments

Filed under Young'n

4 responses to “D-Day

  1. Katy

    Congratulations! I’m sure you’ll get a blue line. Or is it a pink line?

  2. Congratulations! How soon can you take a test to see if, um, it took?

  3. I will probably take a test a day or two after I’m supposed to start my period if it doesn’t start on time, but according to Taking Charge of Your Fertility, the best way to tell is to track waking temperature. Your waking temperature rises sharply after ovulation as you produce progesterone to thicken your uterine lining to support a potential pregnancy. When you’re about to menstruate, your temperature begins to fall again. 18 consecutive high temperatures means you’re pregnant.

Leave a Reply

