One step closer to getting knocked up

Yesterday afternoon Vanessa and I went to see my gynecologist about artificial insemination. I had already talked to the doctor about insemination, but, until recently, Vanessa and I had planned to do it at home. The high cost of sperm and the better chances of becoming pregnant when using intrauterine insemination (IUI), something that we were not comfortable doing ourselves at home, vs intracervical insemination (ICI) has changed our minds.

I've been tracking my cycles for several months using MyMonthlyCycles and using an ovulation predictor saliva test (shows ferns on the slide when you're fertile) to try to pinpoint ovulation. I also borrowed a copy of Toni Weschler's book Taking Charge of Your Fertility (highly recommended! I'm buying my own copy now.) from a friend at work. In reading that book and looking at my charts, I've discovered that I have a shorter cycle than most, and I was concerned that my luteal phase, the time post-ovulation during which you produce progesterone from the discarded corpus luteum (the shell that houses the egg until it breaks through the ovarian wall)– hopefully long enough for the fertilized egg to become embedded in your uterus and start producing its own progesterone– was a little short. I went this morning for a test to see if I'm producing enough progesterone to sustain a pregnancy. If I'm not, there are things we can do.

The doctor allayed a lot of concerns I had about doing this in-office. There are less hoops to jump through than we thought, and she did not recommended using fertility drugs unless it becomes clear that there's a fertility problem. With any luck, we'll be inseminating in late June. It looks like more IUI from our donor will be available by then.

3 Comments

Filed under Young'n

3 responses to “One step closer to getting knocked up

  1. Oh, you forgot to share about the argument we had while waiting for the doctor. Pretty much as soon as the nurse shut the door, the mood between us changed. I started shifting in my chair and looking around the room nervously. Before I knew it, Mel and I were arguing about my lack of engagement in this process. She's right, of course, but there's something about waiting for the cooter doctor (who, by the way, looks like an Indian Christy McNichol) that makes all your anxieties bubble over.

  2. Well, since you bring it up… wanna go again?

    We’re good now. Just needed a reset. Being in the doctor’s office makes it all a lot more real.

  3. Katy

    She said cooter. I just love her!

Leave a Reply

